



Members Update for June 23rd, 2022

There will be no update tomorrow – consider this enough to talk to your co-workers about.

<u>Local Election Results</u> – Our Local elections were today and aside from a small tech hiccup, things went very smoothly and we had a very positive voter turnout – better voter percentage than the Provincial election a couple weeks ago. Without further delay, here's the list of successful candidates for the next two year term.

- President Blake Corkill
- 1st VP Patrick Cumbo
- 2nd VP Pat Amatangelo
- Chief Steward Flora DiCarlo
- Recording Secretary Darlene Barrick
- Secretary Treasurer Dave Dickhout
- Membership Officers Darren Kerr, Michelle Madley

Stewards – Dave Dickhout, Darren Kerr, Dave Winger, Shelley Livingston, John Thompson, Danny Catanyag, Dave Wardell, Kathleen Powell, Michelle Madley, Jason Atkinson

Health & Safety Committee - Kathleen Powell, Danny Catanyag, Marilyn MacAloney, Laurie Penner

CARD Committee – Stephen Clarkin, Flora DiCarlo, Dave Dickhout

Women's Committee – Darlene Barrick, Kristin Cox, Cynthia Nowe, Laurie Penner

Bargaining Committee Nominations – After our Local Election today, we will have a vacant position on our bargaining committee. Flora DiCarlo was nominated and elected as a member to the bargaining committee but once sworn in on Sunday, she assumes the role of Chief Steward on the bargaining committee, leaving her elected position open. Because of the uncertainty of bargaining this year (could start over the summer), we want to have this position filled as soon as possible and get a new member caught up on what has happened so far and what is still left to do and get them any training needed before bargaining starts.

For these reasons, after the new Executive is sworn in on Sunday, we will be taking nominations during the meeting for the vacant bargaining committee position in person on Sunday June 26th. Nominations must be made in person. If a member is being nominated, they must be present at the meeting to either accept or decline the nomination, or send an acceptance email to the office before 10am Sunday morning. If members are nominated, not present and have not sent an acceptance email – they will be recorded as declining the nomination. If there are multiple accepted nominations we will schedule an election date that complies closely with our bylaws.

June Membership Meeting : This Sunday the 26th is our June Membership Meeting, starting at 10am. We do not have scheduled membership meetings over the summer, so we may not see each other again until September unless we need a bargaining vote over the summer depending on how the government proceeds in bargaining with the OSBCU.

Our new Executive will be sworn in on Sunday and members will be able to meet their new stewards, and other various committee members. I encourage ALL members who have been acclaimed or elected for any positions to be present on Sunday to meet members in person.

Our meeting will be held at the HWETL Office (Elementary Teachers Local) as it has been the last two months. A notice for the meeting is attached with this update. <u>A big shout out to HWETL and their Executive for allowing us to use their hall for our meetings.</u>

I want to say a big thank you to everyone who took the interest and the time to vote today. This Local survives and thrives by involving as many members as possible. I am not the Union. The Executive is not the Union. All of our elected positions put together are not the Union. The Union is all of us together. I have one vote on issues – the same as everyone else.

See you Sunday,

Cheers,

Blake

Phone (905) 544-7733



Sunday ~ June 26, 2022 10:00 am – 12:00 pm

LOCATION: HWETL HALL, 105 NEBO ROAD

<u>AGENDA:</u>

Swearing In of Elected Officers
Nominations for Bargaining Committee
Regular Union Business